Skip to main content

University of Wyoming Libraries Research Launchpad

Skip to main content

Emmett D. Chisum Special Collections: Research

Provides a traditional library environment where researchers can request assistance and review materials held in a variety of collections.

Preferred Citation and Copyright

Researchers are requested to use the preferred citation that designates Emmett D. Chisum Special Collections, Univeristy of Wyoming Libraries, as the repository for any material used in a published work. We request that citations use the following format:

[collection name], Emmett D. Chisum Special Collections, University of Wyoming Libraries.

Other Resources

Research Services

Researchers who are unable to visit Special Collections may submit inquiries via standard mail, telephone, or email. Special Collections staff will be able to spend a limited amount of time researching your question. Staff may also be able to refer researchers to other resources on and off campus. Our small staff, however, cannot undertake extensive research.

Reading Room Guidelines

All researchers entering the Chisum Reading Room are required to sign in at the reference desk. Personal belongings must be stored in the area provided. Wireless is available and personal computers are allowed.

Requesting Material

The Emmett D. Chisum Special Collections are in a closed stack area. These materials do not ciruclate primarily to ensure that researchers will have ready access to them.

To request Hebard materials you need to have the call number and title of each item needed so you can fill out the item request and obtain needed materials from the Reading Room staff. Materials may be used only in the Reading Room.