Skip to main content

University of Wyoming Libraries Research Launchpad

Skip to main content

Brinkerhoff Geology Library (Brinkerhoff Earth Resources Information Center): Databases & Reference

The Brinkerhoff Geology Library is located in the Geology Building at the Northwest corner of the UW Campus.

Reference E-Books

General Reference

AccessScience (Encyclopedia of Science & Technology)

Chicago Manual of Style

Oxford English Dictionary (OED)

Oxford Reference Online
provides access to 175+ reference sources and the Oxford Companions series.

Geography Reference

Gazetteers

GNIS (Geographic Names Information System)
Authoritative database of U.S. place names approved by the U.S. Board of Geographic Names.

GEOnet Names Server (GNS)
Standard spellings of all foreign place names, sanctioned by the U.S. Board of Geographic Names.  Click on SEARCH to enter a placename.

Country Information

CIA World Factbook
Provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities.

Background Notes (U.S. Dept. of State)
Includes facts about the land, people, history, government, political conditions, economy, and foreign relations.

 

Geology Databases

  • ScienceDirect:  Features articles from science journals and books.

Lyell Collection

Is the Geological Society of London's online collection comprising of the Society’s journal titles, Special Publications and key book series.

Geology & Geophysics Databases

All UW Libraries Article Databases