Skip to main content

University of Wyoming Libraries Research Launchpad

Skip to main content

Education: Government Information: Home

Ask a Librarian

Coe Library Help Desk
Contact:
Phone: 307-766-2070
Toll-free: 800-442-6757
Text: 307-460-4336
Website / Blog Page

Education

Annual Reports (U.S. National Center for Education Statistics)
Provides data from The Condition of Education, The Digest of Education Statistics, High School Dropout and Completion Rates in the United States, Indicators of School Crime and Safety, and Projections of Education Statistics.

CCD Common Core of Data (U.S. National Center for Education Statistics)
CCD is an annual statistical database covering all elementary and secondary schools and school districts in the U.S. Descriptions of schools and districts, data on students and staff, and fiscal data are reported.

College Navigator (U.S. National Center for Education Statistics)
Choose and compare colleges by geographic location, degrees offered, programs, cost, aid, safety, and accreditation.

Educational Attainment (U.S Census Bureau)
Statistics from the Census Bureau on educational attainment, field of training, school costs, enrollments, school districts and other characteristics like disability, income, poverty, etc.

Education Resource Organizations Directory (U.S. Department of Education)
Directory of thousands of organizations that provide educational services on national, regional or state levels. Site includes search features.

Education Finance Statistics Center (U.S. National Center for Education Statistics)
Gives financial information on elementary and secondary public or private Gives financial information on elementary and secondary public or private education and data on public school district finances.

FREE--Federal Resources for Educational Excellence (U.S. Department of Education)
FREE includes more than 1,500 federally supported teaching and learning resources from dozens of federal agencies.

Home Schooling in the United States (U.S. National Center for Education Statistics)
Eight reports provides statistics and trends about the homeschooling population from the 1990s to 2007.

Individuals With Disabilities Education Act Data (IDEAdata.org)
"This web site provides public access to the most recent data about children with disabilities served under the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA)."

Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System, IPEDS (U.S. National Center for Education Statistics)
Collects data from all postsecondary educational institutions and organization. Provides information on enrollments, program completions, faculty, staff and finances.

National Assessment of Adult Literacy (U.S. National Center for Education Statistics)
NAAL is a nationally representative and continuing assessment of English language literacy skills of American adults age 16 and older.

National Center for Special Education Research (U.S. Institute of Education Sciences)
Try the "Publications" link in the top bar.

National Debate Topics for High Schools (U.S. Library of Congress)
"The Library of Congress is responsible for preparing compilations of pertinent excerpts, bibliographical references, and other appropriate materials relating to the annual topic."

Nation's Report Card on Education (U.S. National Center for Education Statistics)
The National Assessment of Educational Progress (the Nation's Report Card) has reported on achievement in reading, math, science, writing, U.S. history, civics, and the arts since 1969.

No Child Left Behind (U.S. Department of Education)
Links to policy documents, NCLB reauthorization, and state results

School Survey on Crime and Safety (U.S. National Center for Education Statistics)
"nationally representative cross-sectional survey of about 3,000 public elementary and secondary schools."

Schools and Staffing Survey (U.S. National Center for Education Statistics)
SASS is "the nation's largest sample survey of America's public and private schools, districts, principals, teachers and library media centers."

Science Education Statistics (U.S. National Center for Science & Engineering Statistics)
Reports include science and engineering degrees awarded and women, minorities, and persons with disabilities. Other reports include graduate students and postdoctorates in science and engineering, academic r & d expenditures, and federal support for science and engineering.

Search for Private Schools (U.S. National Center for Education Statistics)
The data for this search tool comes from the 30,377 schools that responded to the 2003-2004 Private School Universe Survey (PSS) conducted by the National Center for Education Statistics.

Search for Public Schools (U.S. National Center for Education Statistics)
Directory includes name and address, school characteristics, and enrollment statistics.

Special Education Publications & Products (U.S. Office of Special Education Programs)
OSEP sponsored links to topical information on special education

State Education Data Profiles (U.S. National Center for Education Statistics)
Information on elementary and secondary education characteristics, finance, postsecondary education, public libraries, assessments, and selected demographics by state.

Student Aid (U.S. Department of Education)
Student oriented site has information on and links to educational and career planning, financing an education and other topics.

Teachers (U.S. Library of Congress)
Website presents lessons, features and activities, and tips and tricks for using over 7,000,000 historical documents, photographs, films, and audio recordings of the American Memory collections.

Teaching with Documents: Lesson Plans (U.S. National Archives)
"This section contains reproducible copies of primary documents from the holdings of the National Archives of the United States, teaching activities correlated to the National History Standards and National Standards for Civics and Government, and cross-curricular connections."

Trends in International Mathematics and Science Study (U.S. National Center for Education Statistics)
Compares the math and science achievement of U.S. students to students in other countries

U.S. Department of Education
Site presents information for students, parents, teachers and administrators. Site includes links to grants and contracts, student financial aid, education resources, research and statistics and policy.

U.S. Network for Education Information (U.S. Department of Education)
"An interagency and public/private partnership whose mission is to provide official information assistance for anyone seeking information about U.S. education and for U.S. citizens seeking authoritative information about education in other countries."

WebCASPAR (U.S. National Science Foundation)
National Science Foundation database provides access to a wide range of statistical data on the science and engineering resources of U.S. colleges and universities. Registration (free) will let you customize reports from the database.

What Works Clearinghouse (U.S. Department of Education)
"The What Works Clearinghouse was established in 2002 by the U.S. Department of Education's Institute of Education Sciences to provide educators, policymakers, researchers, and the public with a central and trusted source of scientific evidence of what works in education."