Skip to main content

University of Wyoming Libraries Research Launchpad

Skip to main content

SPPA 1010: Introduction to Communication Disorders: Home

Provides suggestions for students beginning their education in speech language pathology.

Library Tutorials

Need more help navigating the library resources? The Library Basics guide has many tutorials to demonstrate how to find information in the UW Libraries web site.

 

Student Library Instruction Evaluation

Library Worksheet

Library worksheet assignment

Finding Full Text

Language Development, Psychology and Education Databases

 

Databases Tutorials
ComDisDome
Communication disorders indexing database that covers journals, books and researcher profiles back to 1950.

Help Manual

CINAHL (Cumulative Index for Nursing and Allied Health Literature)Proprietary database, with approximately 4 million citations to articles published in trade magazines and professional journals for nurses and allied health professionals.

CINAHL Advanced Search (5 min.) 

CINAHL Search Options (8 min.)

 

ERIC (Education Resources Information Center)
Major education indexing database that covers journals, research reports, documents, conference papers, media and books back to 1966.

ERIC Basic Search Tutorial (from LIONTV, Library Information Online Network)

ERIC Advanced Search Tutorial (from LIONTV, Library Information Online Network)

Linguistics and Language Behavior AbstractsLinguistics indexing database that covers journals, books, reports and theses back to 1973.

Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts: An Overview (1:19 min.)

Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts Thesaurus (1:21 min.)

PubMed
PubMed, one of the databases from the National Library of Medicine, is the largest biomedical database in the world, with over 23 million article citations. The search platform is very sophistocated and powerful with rich subject headings, called MeSH terms, and a myriad of filters to help focus your search.

 PubMed Simple Subject Search (1 min.)

PubMed Simple Subject Search: How It Works (1 min.)

PubMed: The Filters Sidebar (2 min.)

Use MeSH to Build a Better PubMed Search (3 min.)

PsycInfo
Search for articles on care of people with mental disorders and other psychological issues, child development and behavior

Sample PsycInfo Search in EBSCO

Articles about Mental Health (3 min.)