Skip to main content

University of Wyoming Libraries Research Launchpad

Skip to main content

SOWK 5400: Social Work Generalist Research Methods: Home

Provides databases that will be most useful when locating articles on topics relevant to this course.

Ask a Librarian

Coe Library Help Desk's picture
Coe Library Help Desk
Contact:
Phone: 307-766-2070
Toll-free: 800-442-6757
Text: 307-460-4336
Website / Blog Page

Finding Books

catalogFrom the UW Libraries home page, click on the blue book icon to search the catalog. If you would like an electronic book, click on the green Advanced Search Button, then go to the Material Type box, and select EBOOK.


more search options

Basic Searching Concepts

Newspaper Databases

Newspaper Databases

Tutorials

ProQuest Newstand
Provides access to the fulltext of over 1300 newspapers, news websites and blogs from leading publishers throughout the world. ProQuest Newsstand is easily searchable and has archives going back to the 1980's from some newspapers. 
About Proquest Newstand
LibGuide from Proquest, including video tutorials.
Academic Search Premier
Prior to beginning the search, enter your terms, then in the Search Options area below the search box, go to Publication Type and select Newspaper. If you want to limit to newspaper after the search, look in the sidebar on the left, go to Source Type and select Newspapers.
 

 

Article databases

The 20 Minute Rule: If you have searched for information for 20 minutes and have found nothing useful on your topic---STOP! It is time to contact a librarian for assistance.

The databases listed below are the four recommended databases that are most useful when searching for articles about psychological theories. There may be additional sources that will supplement these databases. Those databases can be found in the full databases lists for Social Work and Psychology.

 

Databases Tutorials
PsycInfo
Psychology, behavioral and child development journal articles

Articles about Mental Health (3 min.)

Sample PsycINFO Search on EBSCOhost (3:25 min.)

Why Use the Thesaurus? (2:54 min.)
 

Google Scholar
Internet browser that searches multiple web sites for academic and scholarly materials.

Google Scholar Advanced Search Tutorial (2:57 min.)

 

Social Work Abstracts
Produced by the National Association of Social Workers (NASW),  deals with all aspects of the social work field, including theory and practice, areas of service and social issues and problems. Includes scholarly and professional articles on subjects such as therapy, education, human services, addictions, child and family welfare, mental health, civil and legal rights.

Social Work Abstracts (3:30 min.) Video tutorial from Carlton University.

Help Manual

Social Services Abstracts
Provides bibliographic coverage of current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development.

Help Manual
CINAHL
Allied health journal articles
CINAHL EBSCO 2.0 Advanced Search (5:17)
From LIONTV, Shows search options available for the advanced search, including Boolean Logic.
PubMed
Biomedical journal articles. Maintained by the National Library of Medicine. Database is freely available.
PubMed Simple Subject Search (1 min.) From the National Library of Medicine
PubMed Simple Subject Search: How It Works (1 min.) From NLM
PubMed: The Filters Sidebar (2 min.) From NLM

ERIC
Educational journal articles, ERIC documents

ERIC Basis Search Demo (4: 07 min.) from LIONTV, shows basic search, limiting search results, interpreting search results, opening full text.

All UW Social Work databases  

What will you find in the UW Libraries catalog?

The catalog contains records of everything in the UW Libraries' print and online collection. You will find records for print and electronic books, journal subscriptions, government documents, DVDs CDs, and microforms.

What if you are not in Laramie, but you need something we have in print--No Problem! Use the Request IT button to ask us to send the item to you. Articles will be scanned and books will be sent to you via Fed Ex.