Skip to main content

University of Wyoming Libraries Research Launchpad

Skip to main content

Research Analytics: Home

Information on how to use research analytics tools to gauge research impact by author, article, or institution.

Introduction to Research Analytics

Research analytics tools allow you to assess the performance or impact of research, by analyzing how published items are cited in other publications. Citations can be analyzed at the level of:

  • Individual articles
  • The output of individual authors or groups of authors (for example, a department or research group)
  • The output of all authors associated with an institution
  • The output of all authors associated with institutions in a country or continent.

University of Wyoming Libraries provides subscription access to two resources that track citations of the articles indexed in their respective databases: Web of Science (published by Thomson Reuters) and Scopus (Elsevier).

Two other products use data from these resources to analyze and compare research performance at the author, institution, and national levels: InCites uses data from Web of Science, while SciVal provides similar analytical capabilities on data from Scopus. InCites and SciVal also enable analysis of author collaborations, and of publication output in defined subject areas.

Google Scholar is a freely available service that indexes scholarly publications, providing a “cited by” number for each. Google Scholar Citations uses this data to provide summarized information about individual authors' research performance. Another freely available software product, Publish or Perish, provides additional analytical capabilities on data from Google Scholar.

Each of the above databases indexes a different, but overlapping, set of publications, over different periods, as described in the table below.

It's important to remember that NONE of these tools can be assumed to provide a complete picture of a scholar's publication output!

  Scopus and SciVal Web of Science and InCites Google Scholar and Publish or Perish
Types of Publications Included? peer-reviewed journals, trade publications, book series, conference papers journals, conference proceedings, scholarly books articles, theses, books, abstracts, court opinions
Subject Areas Covered? physical sciences, health sciences, social sciences, life sciences, arts & humanities sciences, social sciences, arts & humanities undefined
Time Period Covered?

Scopus: 1996 to present

SciVal: Past 5 years

Web of Science: 1900 to present

InCites: 1980 to present

unknown
Exclude Self Citations? yes yes no
Links to Citing Articles? yes yes yes
Personal Account Required? yes, for SciVal yes, for InCites yes, for some features
Software Download Required? no no yes, for Publish or Perish
Weighted Citation Impact?* yes yes no
Documentation of Coverage? Scopus Content Coverage Guide (PDF, 1.6 MB) Thomson Reuters Master Journal List no
Documentation of Metrics?

SciVal Metrics Guidebook (PDF, 1.89 MB)

SciVal Usage Guidebook (PDF, 980 KB) - advice on the use of multiple metrics.

InCites Indicators Handbook (PDF, 980 KB)

Publish or Perish Book

 

*Weighted citation impact 

InCites and Scopus both provide calculated values that adjust raw citation numbers to make them more comparable across disciplines. In InCites, citations are weighted to reflect the normal citation practice in the discipline/subject category with which they are associated, the year of publication, and document type (Category Weighted Citation Impact), or the journals in which they are published (Journal Weighted Citation Impact). SciVal provides a single weighted metric that combines these adjustments, the Field Weighted Citation Impact. In all cases, a value of one represents performance at par with world average, values above one are considered above average, and values below one are considered below average. A value of two represents performance at twice the world average.

For more information

Have more questions about research analytics?

Contact us at cdoffice@uwyo.edu if you have questions or comments about these tools.